Creeps on the Street

Why can’t we all just be polite to each other and treat people like actual human beings, regardless of gender? I can’t be the only one who’s fed up of being harassed in the street and being scared to walk alone at night. It’s summer now and I find myself hesitating whether or not to wear dresses and shorts just because I’m sick of guys whistling at me and pestering me. I feel this need to cover up, even when it’s sweltering hot. Not that it seems to make a difference what I wear. And for those who say this sort of attention should be taken as a compliment – IT’S NOT. It’s just creepy. I am able to tell the difference between someone who’s paying me a sincere compliment and someone who’s just sees women as objects. Street harassment happens way too often and happens to too many people. It might not seem like a big deal but it sure is bloody annoying. In this past week, I have had three different guys pester me in some way. Just a stupid comment here and a wolf whistle there. Even when I’m just being my normal scruffy awkward self! Don’t get me wrong. On the whole, the men in my life are caring and intelligent. There are just a few guys out there who need to change their attitudes. I thought I would share this video because this girl can explain things so much better than me.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=peBddZQbWYk

Leave a Reply

